Applied Forensic Sciences continues to headline AAFS annual meetings

mercyhurst aafs 2023The Mercyhurst University Department of Applied Forensic Sciences, long recognized for its accomplishments and expertise at the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) annual meetings, took home accolades this year as well.
Twelve graduate students, led by department chair Dr. Dennis Dirkmaat, attended the 75th annual meetings in Orlando, Florida, Feb. 13-18.

There, Sheana Ramachan, a second-year master’s degree student in Forensic and Biological Anthropology, was awarded AAFS’s inaugural Diversity and Inclusion Pilot Study Research Grant in support of her master’s thesis.

“It was truly inspiring to see the current research in the forensic sciences and I plan to present my thesis research at next year's conference,” Ramachan said.

In addition, Mercyhurst faculty member Dr. Joe Adserias-Garriga was recognized by the American Society of Forensic Odontology (ASFO) for her tenure as president during 2022, when she began several successful projects intended to engage the new generation of forensic scientists and enhance communication among professionals.

Dirkmaat, a past recipient of the T. Dale Stewart Award, which recognizes outstanding, career-long contributions to the field of forensic anthropology, announced this year’s recipient: Dr. Eugénia Cunha of the University of Coimbra, Portugal.
The Mercyhurst group also had the opportunity to engage with numerous alumni from the university’s highly lauded program.

PHOTO: (L-R) Faculty member Dr. Joe Adserias-Garriga receives an award for her successful tenure as president of the American Society of Forensic Odontology; student Sheana Ramachan earns AAFS’s first Diversity and Inclusion Pilot Study Research Grant.