Mercyhurst University

Concerts & Events

 

 

OCTOBER

FACULTY RECITAL SERIES

Faculty Collage

A showcase recital featuring a variety of repertoire performed by our department faculty.

Wednesday, Oct. 17, 8:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

MERCYHURST CIVIC ORCHESTRA*

Directed by Jonathan Moser

Dr. Nathan Hess, piano soloist

Sunday, Oct. 28, 4:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

D’ANGELO OPERA THEATRE*

Menotti’s The Medium

Directed by Louisa Jonason

Wednesday, Oct. 31, 9:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

There will be a Halloween party to follow! Come in costume and a prize will be awarded to the best!

 

NOVEMBER

FACULTY RECITAL SERIES

Allen Zurcher, saxophone

Beth Etter, piano

Wednesday, Nov. 14, 8:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

ERIE PHILHARMONIC BURCE MORTON WRIGHT CHAMBER MUSIC SERIES

Thursday, November 15, 7:30 p.m.

Beethoven’s Septet plus additional works

Walker Recital Hall

This event is free and open to the public.

 

WIND ENSEMBLE CONCERT*

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Sunday, Nov. 18, 4:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

SMALL ENSEMBLES CONCERT

Wednesday, Nov. 28, 7:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

DECEMBER

JAZZ ENSEMBLE CHRISTMAS CONCERT*

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Saturday, Dec. 1, 7:00 p.m.

Taylor Little Theatre

 

CONCERT CHOIR AT NORTH EAST

Christmas Concert

Directed by Thomas Brooks

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 7:00 p.m.

St. Mary’s Chapel, Mercyhurst North East

This performance is free and open to the public. No ticket required.

 

A STORYBOOK CHRISTMAS*

Concert Choir directed by Thomas Brooks

Civic Orchestra directed by Jonathan Moser

Sunday, Dec. 9, 4:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

JANUARY

D’ANGELO OPERA THEATRE

Menotti’s Amahl and the Night Visitors

Directed by Louisa Jonason

Free and open to the public. Donations are appreciated.

Epiphany Sunday, Jan. 6, 4:00 p.m.

St. Luke’s Church, 421 E. 38th Street

 

FEBRUARY

TRI-STATE MUSIC FESTIVAL

Prism Concert featuring Mercyhurst students

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Friday, Feb. 8, 8:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

TRI-STATE MUSIC FESTIVAL

Honor Band Concert featuring regional high school students

Saturday, Feb. 9, 2:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

FACULTY RECITAL SERIES

Katherine Soroka, mezzo-soprano

Nathan Carterette, guest pianist

Wednesday, Feb. 13, 8:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

WIND ENSEMBLE*

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Sunday, Feb. 17, 4:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

JAZZ ENSEMBLE*

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Saturday, Feb. 23, 7:00 p.m.

Taylor Little Theatre

 

MARCH

FACULTY RECITAL SERIES

Royce Strider, baritone

Wednesday, March 13, 8:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

MERCYHURST CIVIC ORCHESTRA*

Concerto/Aria Competition Concert

Directed by Jonathan Moser

Sunday, March 17, 4:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

ROCHE GUEST ARTIST SERIES

Emily Yap Chua, piano

Performance: Monday, March 18, 8:00 p.m.

Masterclass: Tuesday, March 19, 12:45-1:45 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

CONCERT CHOIR*

Directed by Thomas Brooks

Friday, March 29, 7:00 p.m.

St. Luke’s Church, 421 E. 38th Street

 

APRIL

ROCHE GUEST ARTIST SERIES

Warp Trio

Performance: Monday, April 1, 8:00 p.m.

Masterclass: Tuesday, April 2, 12:45-1:45 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

www.warptrio.com

 

FACULTY RECITAL SERIES

Dr. Scott Meier, saxophone

Wednesday, April 10, 8:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

D’ANGELO OPERA THEATRE**

The D’Angelo Opera Theatre, with the Mercyhurst Civic Orchestra, presents Donizetti’s Don Pasquale

Directed by Louisa Jonason

Conducted by Jonathan Moser

Friday, April 26, 8:00 p.m.

Sunday, April 28, 2:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

JAZZ ENSEMBLE CONCERT*

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Saturday, April 27, 7:00 p.m.

Taylor Little Theatre

 

MAY

SMALL ENSEMBLES CONCERT

Wednesday, May 1, 7:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

WIND ENSEMBLE CONCERT*

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Saturday, May 4, 7:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

COMPOSERS CONCERT

World Premiere Compositions

Directed by Dr. Albert Glinsky

Sunday, May 5, 2:00 p.m.

 

Ticket Information:

*General admission $5; Mercyhurst students, Faculty and 12 and under $2

**Adults: $15.50; Senior/Students: $12.50; Mercyhurst students (with ID) and 12 and under: $5.

 

PAST EVENTS

 

SEPTEMBER

ROCHE GUEST ARTIST SERIES

David and Hyun Ju Curtin, pianists

Performance: Monday, Sept. 10, 8:00 p.m.

Masterclass: Tuesday, Sept. 11, 12:45-1:45 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

FACULTY RECITAL SERIES  

Jonathan Moser, violin

Kellen Degnan, cello

Wednesday, Sept. 19, 8:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

WIND ENSEMBLE CONCERT*

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Sunday, Sept. 30, 4:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

OCTOBER

WQLN LIVE FROM STUDIO Q

Marc-André Hamelin, Erie Philharmonic guest pianist

Friday, October 5, 12:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

 

ROCHE GUEST ARTIST SERIES          

Akropolis Reed Quintet

Monday, Oct. 8, 8:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

www.akropolisquintet.org

 

JAZZ ENSEMBLE CONCERT*

Directed by Dr. Scott Meier

Wednesday, Oct. 10, 7:00 p.m.

Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center

 

GUEST VIOLIN/PIANO

Stephen Sims, Violin

Douglas Jurs, Piano

Friday, October 12, 7:00 p.m.

Walker Recital Hall

Free and open to the public

 

"American Crossroads: Violin/Piano Duos, 1923-1996"

Henry Cowell - Suite for Violin and Piano

John Adams - Road Movies

Lowell Lieberman - Sonata for Violin and Piano

Aaron Copland - Nocturne

George Antheil - Sonata #2