Mercyhurst University

You are here

North East inducts 50 to leadership society

Friday, April 25, 2014

Mercyhurst University – The North East Campus will celebrate the induction of 50 students to Sigma Alpha Pi, the National Society of Leadership and Success, on May 1 at 4 p.m. in the Ridge Library Great Room.

Of those 50, 36 students will receive presidential status for having achieved a 3.3 or higher cumulative GPA.

In addition to the 50 members who will be inducted, the ceremony will honor seven students with the National Engaged Leader Award, a certificate of achievement presented to members who go above and beyond the steps for membership. The MNE students receiving the award are Katherine Reichert, Laura Lindstrom, Samantha Charlton, Haley Schaef, Amanda Eaton, Darcie Kuchcinski and Daniela Sanchez.

“In the college setting, we seek to first develop a student’s mind – however, upon graduation, leadership and integrity will guide them,” said Darcey Kemp, dean of students and adviser of the Mercyhurst North East chapter of NSLS. “Through their participation in the National Society of Leadership and Success, our students received training from the best and brightest minds of our day, learning the essential skills of interpersonal networking and goal setting.”

A total of 125 student members have joined the Mercyhurst North East chapter of this national organization since its founding at the campus in August 2011. The Society currently has 357,001 members at 417 colleges nationwide. The organization helps people discover and achieve their goals through life-changing lectures from the nation's leading presenters and a community where like-minded, success-oriented individuals come together and help one another succeed. The Society also serves as a powerful force of good in the greater community by encouraging and organizing action to better the world.

“Our students’ completion of the induction requirements is just the beginning of something larger that they are becoming a part of,” Kemp said. “I’m very proud of our inductees and their accomplishments. It has been an honor to serve as their adviser.”

In addition to honoring the student inductees, the May 1 ceremony will include the following special awards for faculty and staff:

Excellence in Service to Students Award: Presented to Joanne Whaling, Andrea Maas and Adam Root. The award honors non-faculty members who exemplify leadership and mentorship and have demonstrated a commitment to bettering the lives of students.

Honorary Memberships: Presented to Natalie Britt and David Marsh. This award is presented to faculty, staff or administrators who embody the society’s mission and who demonstrate leadership in a personal and professional capacity.

Excellence in Teaching Award: Presented to Patricia Pulito and Dennis Dunne. This award is presented to those who teach with passion and inspire students beyond the classroom, who demonstrates dedication to developing students beyond academic qualifications or someone who makes a positive difference in the lives of society members.