Mercyhurst University

You are here

Municipal Police Training Academy graduates 26

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Congratulations to the 25 men and one woman who recently graduated from the Municipal Police Training Academy at Mercyhurst University.

Graduates included: Anthony S. Allman of Erie; Aaron K. Baer of New Castle; Joseph W. Coleman of Smethport; Albert J. Courteau of Erie; Stephen M. Craker of Erie; Jeffrey S. Dann of Fairview; Jared L. Fletcher of Erie; Sean M. Floor of Erie; Hayden C. Foltz of Erie; Michael A. Franz of Erie; Joshua M. Frederoski of Clarendon; Michael P. Gipe of Erie; Jarret C. Kalicky of Girard; Tyler L. Koszewski of North East; Adam J. Krahe of Erie; Ryan J. Kramer of Erie; Scott T. Means of Warren; Sabrina M. Meyer of Erie; Nickolas J. Orloff of Erie; Joshua R. Sharpe of Girard; Ethan D. Sheeder of Erie; Joseph E. Seaburn of New Castle; Gregory M. Summerson of Lake City; Aaron A. Tate of Erie; Andrew S. Turi of Erie and Lee E. Woodworth of Union City.

Sean M. Floor was the class speaker during graduation, while several other graduates received awards. Anthony S. Allman received the Academic Achievement Award. Jeffrey S. Dann received the Top Gun Award for his score in firearms. Joshua M. Frederoski received the Physical Conditioning Award and the inaugural Frank L. Baranyai Award named in honor of the longtime academy instructor who recently died.

Graduates will go on to positions as police officers, park rangers, municipal authority officers and other positions within the criminal justice system. This group marked the 108th class to receive certification after completing the intensive program which includes instruction in communication skills, police-community relations, physical conditioning, motor vehicle code, criminal and constitutional law, criminal investigation, firearm proficiency and patrol procedures.  The academy is located in the Janet E. Miller building near Interstate 90 in North East.