Mercyhurst University

You are here

MNE announces commencement awards

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

Andrea Thornton, a culinary arts and hospitality management major, has been chosen to receive the Medal of Honor, the highest award presented to a graduating student at Mercyhurst North East, and will be the student speaker at graduation on May 13.

Receiving degrees during the 1 p.m. proceedings at MNE’s Liguori Fieldhouse are 146 Mercyhurst North East graduates; three graduates of the Corry campus; and 14 more from the Booker T. Washington Center, for a total of 163.

Dr. David Hyland, vice president for Mercyhurst North East, will offer the welcome. Board of Trustees Vice Chair Joseph NeCastro will deliver the charge from the board.

In addition to Thornton, numerous other students are being recognized for their achievements. Andrea Rowe, an adult student in the registered nursing program, will receive the Robert S. Miller Award, and the Redemptorist Fathers Award goes to Aaron Ehrgott, criminal justice major. Criminal justice student Vickie Curry will receive the Letoinne Barnett Memorial Award, given to a graduate of the Booker T. Washington Campus who most exemplifies the "Carpe Diem Spirit" exhibited by Barnett.

Chosen to receive program awards are Tom Cannon, biology; Lauren Rodgers, business administration; Christopher Freeman, criminal justice; Danielle Wagner, culinary arts and hospitality management; Ariel Packer, early childhood education; Mortadha Saadoon, liberal arts; Christy Reeves, medical laboratory technician; Brittany McClenahan, associate of science in nursing; Rachel Kramer, occupational therapy assistant; Bernardo Medina, physical therapist assistant; and Melissa Winkler, respiratory therapist.