Mercyhurst University

You are here

Mercyhurst recognizes graduation award winners

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Sam Lioi

Sam Lioi has been named the 2017 Carpe Diem Award recipient at Mercyhurst University and will speak during graduation ceremonies on May 14.

The Carpe Diem Award is presented to the senior who has made the most positive impact on the life of the Mercyhurst community and who best exemplifies the university motto, "Carpe Diem - Seize the Opportunity." Sam, a double major in business competitive intelligence and political science, has been involved in a variety of campus activities, including serving as president of the Mercyhurst Ambassadors and vice president of Mercyhurst Student Government.

Mariesa Robinson, who majored in psychology and sociology, will receive the Bishop's Award for Academic Excellence. Other top senior awards will go to Holly Donlin-Smith (Sister Carolyn Herrmann Service Award); Shannon Holley (Frank Barry Leadership Award); Haylie Kromer (Mother Borgia Egan Honors Award); and Devyn Peskorski (Alumni Recognition Award). Two adult undergraduate students will also receive top awards. Robert Wood will receive the Catherine McAuley Adult Student Award, while Susan Holmes will receive the President's Award for Adult Excellence.

Seniors chosen to receive the President's Award for Excellence by Mercyhurst's colleges are: Sarah Whitaker and Vianna Quach (Hafenmaier College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences); Taylor Rider and Taylor Kasavage (Ridge College of Intelligence Studies and Applied Sciences); Annie Baich and Marissa Peltz (Walker College of Business); Mason Beaudry and Bryce Burrell (Zurn College of Natural and Health Sciences).

Mercyhurst's master's degree programs have selected outstanding graduates to receive the Sister Eustace Taylor Graduate Student Awards for 2017. Winners include Natalie Bryan (Applied Behavior Analysis), Daniel Irwin (Applied Intelligence), Haley Schaef (Criminal Justice Administration), Jonathan Ouegnin (Data Science), Megan Rue (Forensic & Biological Anthropology), Nicole Wethli (Organizational Leadership), Sarah Lange (Physician Assistant Studies), Aaron Wilkinson (Secondary Education: Pedagogy and Practice), and Lindsey D’Andrea (Special Education and Applied Disability Studies). The awards are named for Sister Eustace Taylor, a member of the college’s first graduating class in 1929. She earned her doctorate in English from Catholic University and came back to join the Mercyhurst faculty in 1937. She remained part of the Mercyhurst community until the 1990s, as an inspiring teacher and scholar, as the school’s president for six years, and as a member of the board of trustees. She died in 2002 at the age of 98.

The Senior Scholar-Athletes of the Year are Lauren T. Kenny (volleyball) and Michael R. Green (wrestling).