Mercyhurst University

You are here

Mercyhurst announces top senior awards

Friday, May 8, 2015

Nick Latta

Senior Nicholas T. Latta has been chosen to receive the 2015 Carpe Diem Award, presented annually to the graduating student who has made the most positive impact on the Mercyhurst University community. He’ll address his fellow graduates during commencement ceremonies on May 17.

Latta served this year as president of Mercyhurst Student Government and also represented students on the University’s Board of Trustees and on the Presidential Search Committee. A public health major, he’ll enroll this fall at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to pursue a master’s degree in health care administration.

The Bishop’s Award for Academic Excellence will be presented to Emily Francis, who’s graduating with degrees in both intelligence studies and public health and a perfect 4.0 grade point average. She plans to attend the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public and International Affairs to pursue joint master’s degrees in international development and public health.

A number of other seniors will be recognized during commencement week for their accomplishments.

The Mercyhurst Honors Program will present the Mother Borgia Egan Award to Stefani Baughman, while Kelsey Eckhoff will receive the Sister Carolyn Herrmann Service Award. The Frank Barry Leadership Award will go to Katelyn Bailey.

Two adult students will be honored, including Nina Aamodt (the Catherine McAuley Adult Student Award) and Nicholas Szumigala (the President’s Award for Adult Excellence).

Alumni Recognition Awards will go to Tara Acharya and Juan Quevedo.

Outstanding students from each of Mercyhurst’s academic schools will receive President’s Awards for Excellence. Honorees include Bethany Woll (Hafenmaier School of Education and Behavioral Sciences); Ian Gayford and Nicole Sedor (School of Arts and Sciences), Hallie McDonald (School of Social Sciences), Sara Chuzie (Walker School of Business and Communication), Nicole Leri (School of Health Professions and Public Health), Kristen James (Zurn School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics), and Julie Smicinski (Tom Ridge School of Intelligence Studies and Information Science).

The 41st Annual Sr. Angelica Cummings Senior Art Award for Creative Excellence goes to Jena Skelton.