Mercyhurst University

You are here

Mercyhurst announces graduation honors

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Senior Caleb D. Ohmer (top right)  has been chosen to receive the 2016 Carpe Diem Award, presented annually to the graduating student who has made the most positive impact on the Mercyhurst University community. He’ll address his fellow graduates during commencement ceremonies on May 22.

Ohmer served this year as president of Mercyhurst Student Government and also represented students on the university’s Board of Trustees. He completed majors in both English and political science, and will enroll this fall at the Indiana University Maurer School of Law in Bloomington, Indiana.

The Bishop’s Award for Academic Excellence will be presented to Andrea Flores (bottom right), a native of Honduras and the first international student at Mercyhurst to win this award. She is graduating with a perfect 4.0 grade point average and majors in both business economics and mathematics. She’ll enter a doctoral program in economics this fall at Washington University in St. Louis.

A number of other seniors and graduate students completing master’s degree programs will also be recognized for their accomplishments at an Honors Convocation on May 20.

The Mercyhurst Honors Program will present the Mother Borgia Egan Award to Matthew Hatfield, while Michelle Ahrens will receive the Sister Carolyn Herrmann Service Award. The Frank Barry Leadership Award will go to Meaghan Hubert.

Two adult students will be honored, including Cynthia Dunn (the Catherine McAuley Adult Student Award) and Carl Best (the President’s Award for Adult Excellence).

The Alumni Recognition Award will go to Morgann Madill.

Each of Mercyhurst’s four academic colleges will present two President’s Awards for Excellence. The honorees include Caroline Magoc (arts) and Katie Kaminski (humanities) from the Hafenmaier College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences; Shannon Bair and Danielle Dros from the Ridge College of Intelligence Studies and Applied Sciences; Andrea Nye and Sten Marcson from the Walker College of Business and Management; and Autumn Walter (natural sciences) and Kennethea Wilson (health sciences) from the Zurn College of Natural and Health Sciences.

Seven master’s degree candidates will receive Sister Eustace Taylor Graduate Student Awards as the outstanding graduates of their programs. They include Kimberly Robinson, administration of justice; Jacob Griffin, anthropology; Lauren Krowitz, applied behavior analysis; Andrew Coffey, applied intelligence; Brigid Hurley, organizational leadership; Benjamin Barbour, secondary education: pedagogy and practice; and Samantha Platko, special education.