Mercyhurst University

You are here

2014 Carpe Diem Award recipient announced

Monday, May 12, 2014

Senior Amber L. Penna has been chosen to receive the 2014 Carpe Diem Award, presented annually to the student who has made the most positive impact on the Mercyhurst University community. She’ll address her fellow graduates during commencement ceremonies on May 18.

Penna served this year as president of Mercyhurst Student Government and also represented students on the University’s Board of Trustees. A sports medicine major, she’ll enter the physical therapy doctoral program at Duke University this fall.

The Bishop’s Award for Academic Excellence will be presented to Alethea L. Gaarden, who’s graduating with majors in both English and political science and a perfect 4.0 grade point average. She’ll enroll in a master’s degree program in literature at the University of Ohio.

A number of other seniors will be recognized during commencement week for their accomplishments.

The Mercyhurst Honors Program will present the Mother Borgia Egan Award to Gregg A. Robbins-Welty, while Lisa M. Sirois will receive the Sister Carolyn Herrmann Service Award. The Frank Barry Leadership Award will go to Jacob S. Griffin.

Two adult students will be honored, including Glenda M. Fulmer (the Catherine McAuley Adult Student Award) and Eithne M. Amos (the President’s Award for Adult Excellence).

Alumni Recognition Awards will go to Ian M. Grecco, Carly M. Marnik, Daniel J. Martin, Mark W. Wilson and Sarah R. Woodring.

Outstanding students from each of Mercyhurst’s academic schools will receive President’s Awards for Excellence. Honorees include Jessica L. Braymiller (Hafenmaier School of Education and Behavioral Sciences); Emily F. McAveney and Molly E. Hunter (School of Arts and Sciences), Mary E. Mancuso (School of Social Sciences), Evan A. Watkins (Walker School of Business and Communication), Sarah A. Lange (School of Health Professions and Public Health), and Rebecca A. Wheeling (Zurn School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics).

The 40th Annual Sr. Angelica Cummings Senior Art Award for Creative Excellence goes to Rodolpho Claros.