Mercyhurst College honors outstanding faculty, graduates

During its 75th Anniversary Year commencement celebration, Mercyhurst College will honor those graduates who have excelled during their time on campus and tip its hat to the 2001 Teaching Excellence Award recipient.

Presented during the commencement exercises at 2:30 p.m. on Sunday, May 20, in the Warner Theatre, will be the 2001 Teaching Excellence Award and the Carpe Diem Award. 

Speaking to the graduates as the outstanding teacher of the year will be Dr. Heidi Hosey, director of the English department and professor of English. Also addressing the class of 2001 will be one of their own, Tracy M. Fischer, winner of the Carpe Diem Award.

Fischer, from Oakville, Ontario, Canada, will accept the highest award given by Mercyhurst College, which is presented to a traditional-aged student in recognition of intellectual competency, personal integrity and leadership impact. It is presented to the outstanding graduating senior who has the most positive impact on the Mercyhurst community and who best exemplifies the college motto “Carpe Diem” to “Seize the Opportunity.” As the president of Mercyhurst Student Government for two years, Fischer has been an influential and responsible leader on the Mercyhurst campus.

In an award ceremony and dinner to be held Friday evening, May 18, in the Mercy Heritage Room in Sullivan Hall, several other graduates will be recognized for outstanding contributions to the college and for academic excellence. 

For the first time in the 75-year history of the college, the Bishop’s Award of Academic Excellence, reserved for the four-year student in recognition of outstanding scholarship achievement, will be given to three students, all of whom earned a perfect 4.0. Sisters Kelley L. Bierbauer and Kara L. Bierbauer, Oil City, Pa, and Amber M. Vance, Norfolk, Va., received the highest academic honor given by the college and the Erie Catholic Diocese.

In honor of the former president of the college, the Sister Carolyn Herrmann Service Award will be presented to Julie Ann Weems, of Lexington, Ky., who has given unselfishly of time, energy, talent and loyalty to the college, and has demonstrated a genuine concern for social justice issues in or outside the greater Erie community.

Two graduating seniors will be honored with the Frank Barry Leadership Award, named for Barry ‘75, who was one of the first male student government presidents at the college. Lindsay M. Christopher, Mayville, N.Y., and Perry N. Wood III, Franklin, Pa., will receive this undergraduate award for exhibiting superior leadership and involvement while students at Mercyhurst College.

Two graduates will also be honored with the Alumni Recognition Award, which is given in recognition of graduates who demonstrate loyalty and strong ties to the college and whose undergraduate days have been filled with the spirit of “The Hurst.” The 2001 recipients of the Alumni Recognition Award will be Thomas E. Reznik, Medina, Ohio, and Amy M. Wipkowski, Glenshaw, Pa.

In addition, several President’s Associates Achievement Awards are presented to graduating traditional-aged students chosen from the eight divisions of the college. Selections are based on overall achievement and winners were judged on scholarship, service to their academic disciplines, and for the potential they demonstrate as future leaders of their professions.

This year’s recipients are: 

Walker School Of Business — Stephanie Trenn, Waterford, Pa.

Creative arts— Kathleen M. Dwyer, Lansdale, Pa.

Education — Gina Gottuso, Ellwood City, Pa.

Hotel, restaurant and institutional management and human ecology — Stephanie L. Bisbee, North East, Pa.

Humanities — Nathan P. Wallace, Buffalo, N.Y.

Science and Mathematics — James C. Rosswog, Allison Park, Pa., and David P. Hermenau, Torrington, Ct.

Social & behavioral science — Michael A. Jones, Erie, Pa.

Other awards will be presented on Thursday, May 17, at the Adult and Graduate Students Reception in the Mercy Heritage Room in Sullivan Hall. Presented that evening will be the Adult Achievement Awards, the Graduate Student of the Year Award and the Sister Eustace Taylor Adult Student Award.

Two adult students will be honored with the Sister Eustace Taylor Adult Student Award in 2001. Beth Sheldon, Fairview, Pa., and Cynthia Sharrer, Erie, Pa., will be recognized for superior academic work and personal and professional achievement. Securing the honor of Graduate Student of the Year is Amy Doane, Frederick, Md., who is graduating with a master’s degree in Administration of Justice

Receiving the President’s Adult Achievement Awards for outstanding academic performance in a division will be Sister Agnes Everlyn Mutesi-Mufumba, LSOSF,Iganga, Uganda, East Africa, who will be honored as the outstanding adult student in the Creative Arts Division.

Other graduates honored with awards will be Outstanding Male Scholar-Athlete Nathan E. Goodrich, Maine, N.Y., and Outstanding Female Scholar-Athlete Mari L. DeMarco, Sudbury, Ontario, Canada.

Bookmark and Share

News Releases

Cummings opens fall season with faculty exhibit
Artists reception slated for Sept. 18 from 5 to 7 p.m.
Mercyhurst welcomes new faculty
Erie, North East celebrate 14 and six new faculty, respectively.
Kids for Cash scandal goes to heart of ‘confronting injustice’
Mercyhurst offers film, speaker on scandal that shocked the nation.

National News

Forbes report highlights universities making gains in serving needs of students on autism spectrum.
Prince George Citizen-Steven Symes
Forensic anthropologist Steven Symes, Ph.D., testifies in trial of alleged serial killer.
Tribune Review-Ridge Archives
Gov. Tom Ridge, whose archives are housed at Mercyhurst, is quoted during a Pittsburgh fundraiser.