Romero Award Winners


The Religious Studies Department has a longstanding tradition of conferring an award to the woman or man whose life and commitment reflect, in an extraordinary manner, the values of faith and justice which were courageously demonstrated in the life and death of Oscar Romero, Archbishop of El Salvador. 


2014 Sister Simone Campbell

Executive Director of NETWORK

2013 Sr. Mary Lou Kownacki, long-time advocate for peace and justice

former Director of Pax Christico-founder of Emmaus, co-founder of Neighborhood Art House author, poet, and catalyst for local neighborhood revitalization.

“Turned Into Fire.”

March 19


2012 Sr. Mary Scullion and Joan McConnon, co-founders, Project HOME.

         “No One is Home Until All of Us Are Home.”

         March 22


2011 Erie L’Arche Community; Fr. George Strohmeyer:

         “Parable of Community in a Troubled World”

         March 24


2010 Sr. Marilyn Lacey, founder of Mercy Beyond Borders. 

“Mobilizing Mercy Beyond Our Borders: An Invitation to Justice and Joy.”

March 9


2009  Sr. Helen Prejean, author and penal reform advocate.

         “Dead Man Walking”

         April 15


2008  Kathleen Erikson, R.S.M., co-founder of the Women’s Intercultural Center, Anthony, NM.

         “Call to the Borders: Justice and Faith at the Margins of Society.”

         March 18


2007  Bishop Thomas J. Gumbleton, auxiliary Bishop of Detroit

         “Faith and Justice in a World of Conflict.”

         March 22


2006  Maura Smith, R.S.M.


2005  Marie Dennis




2003  Kathy Kelly, anti-war protester; director, “Voices in the Wilderness”;

         “Broken Hearts, Broken Policy: U.S. Sanctions and War in Iraq.” 

         received in absentia (she was in Iraq) by Joanna Berrigan

         March 24


2002  John Dear, S.J., former director, Fellowship of Reconciliation.

         “Non-violent Action and Global Terror: The Relevance

         of Radical Compassion.” 




2000  Roy Bourgeois, M.M.


1999  Christine Vladimiroff, O.S.B


1998  Edwina Gately


1997  Pax Christi


1996  Robert Hoderny


1995  Mary Jo Leddy     


1994  Elizabeth McCallister




1992  Philip Berryman


1991  Daniel Berrigan


Civil War photo exhibit
Photographs of the American Civil War

Dates: Jun 12-Aug 3, 2014

Location: Cummings Gallery