Mercyhurst University

You are here


Undergraduate Awards

Carpe Diem Award: 

This honor is the highest award presented by Mercyhurst University to a traditional-aged student. It is given in recognition of intellectual competency, personal integrity and, especially, leadership impact. It is presented to the outstanding graduating senior who had the most positive impact on the life of the Mercyhurst community and who best exemplifies the university motto "Carpe Diem," to "Seize the Opportunity". The name and criteria for this award were established by the Sister of Mercy under the leadership of Mother Borgia Egan, the founding president of Mercyhurst University. 

Bishops Award of Excellence: 

This award is chosen by grade point average and overall academic record. The winner must have taken the majority of classes toward the degree requirement at Mercyhurst University, with the exception of study abroad or with a Mercyhurst-affiliated program. The Catholic Diocese of Erie sponsors this award. This award is presented at commencement.

Mother Borgia Egan Award: 

This award recognizes the model honors student who fully embodies the spirit of a liberal arts education. He or she will have completed all the requirements of the Mercyhurst Honors Program and will possess the following qualities: academic and scholarly/professional accomplishments, community service and an appreciation of and participation in the cultural environment of the University. 

Sr. Carolyn Herrmann Service Award: 

This award is given to a traditional graduating senior who has given unselfishly of time, energy, loyalty and talent in the spirit of Sr. Carolyn Herrmann, who served as the University’s President from 1962 – 1970. 

President’s Award for Excellence (traditional undergraduate):

Each of the five Schools at the University, under the direction and guidance of the respective School Dean, nominate three traditional seniors in their respective Schools. The criteria for selection are GPA and overall contribution to the respective School. The award is given to the student who is considered to be the top scholar in each respective School.

Frank Barry Leadership Award: This award is given to a traditional graduating senior who has exemplified superior student leadership and campus involvement during his/her time at Mercyhurst University. This award is named after Frank Barry, ’75, one of the first male student government presidents. 

Alumni Recognition Award: 

This traditional undergraduate award is presented to the graduating senior who has shown exceptional loyalty and strong ties to his/her alma mater, and whose undergraduate days have been filled with a visible love, spirit and involvement at “The Hurst.” 

Catherine McAuley Adult Student Award:

This award is presented to an adult student in recognition of superior work, as well as personal and professional achievement. The non-traditional student who wins this award will be the student who has been judged to be the most outstanding adult student in the graduating class. The award is based on GPA, but also takes into account professional achievement, family responsibilities and other challenges that can face adult students. 

President's Award for Adult Excellence: 

Under the direction and guidance of the School Deans, each School nominates an adult student for this award. The criteria for selection are GPA and overall contribution to the University. The award is given to one adult student who is considered to be a top scholar at the University. 


Graduate Awards

Dr.Barrett C. Walker Graduate Leadership Prize:

This prize is presented annually to the Organizational Leadership graduate who has demonstrated superior academic excellence and whose master's thesis or research based project is deemed to make the greatest contribution to the understanding of leadership in organizations as judged by the graduate Organizational Leadership faculty. 

Sister Eustace Taylor Graduate Student Award:

Each of the five graduate Programs, under the direction and guidance of the Program Director, select the best graduate student in their respective Program for this award. The criteria for selection are GPA and overall contribution to the respective School.